Insurance Company Reviews

Your Insurance Company Reviewed

Read Reviews From Your State:

Protective Life Review

Protective Life Company Overview

Customer Rating:
Rating: 2.045 Reviews Protective Life has received an average of 2.0 stars out of 5 based on 45 user reviews.

Company History:
In 1907 Governor William Dorsey Jelks founded Protective Life Insurance Company. By 1957 the company had almost $1 billion of insurance in force. In 1997 the company acquired West Coast Life; in 2006 the company acquired Chase Insurance Group; and in 2013 the company acquired MONY Life Insurance Company for $1.06 billion. In 2010 Protective Life (parent company) was awarded the Optimas Award from Workforce Management Magazine and honored in the Partnership category by the Virgin HealthMiles employee wellnes..Read More

Lines of Insurance:
Health, Life, Disability

States licensed to sell insurance in:
AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, DC, FL, GA, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY

Protective Life Satisfaction Survey

Overall, how satisfied are you, with Protective Life?



  1. Please select your insurance company from the following list:

  2. What insurance policy/policies do you have with this company?
    (select all that apply)
    Auto   Home   Health   Life   Other

  3. How long have you had a policy with this company?
    Less Than 1 Month
    1 to 6 Months
    6 Months to 1 Year
    1 to 3 Years
    Over 3 Years

  4. Overall, how satisfied are you, with your insurance company?
    Extremely Satisfied
    Very Satisfied
    Somewhat Satisfied
    Unsatisfied
    Very Unsatisfied

  5. How likely are you to renew your insurance policy/policies with this insurance company?
    Definitely
    Probably
    Might or Might Not
    Probably Not
    Definitely Not

  6. Would you recommend this insurance company to your friends and family?
    Definitely
    Probably
    Might or Might Not
    Probably Not
    Definitely Not

  7. Have you ever had occasion to file a claim with your company?
    YES   NO

  8. Please provide any comments about your insurance company that would be useful to other consumers.

                 


Contact Information for Protective Life

Company Contact Info:
Chairman/President/CEO   John D. Johns
2801 Highway 280 South
Birmingham, AL 35223
205-268-1000

Protective Life Reviews and Customer Comments

"This company is the next thing to a scam. They have strung out my annuity pay out for almost 2 months. With every phone call the hold times get longer. Tax documents aren't even mailed on time."
Commented on 2018-02-23 12:52:43 EST
"I paid premiums to this company for seven years, never missing or being late the entire time. My wife passed away on 12-15-2017. I contacted them that same day. Because I could not produce a copy of the policy, I was told I could not submit the claim on line and had to do so via mail. I mailed the complete application, including all requested documents on 12-21-2017. I was told that if the documents were in order, and the payment was approved, it would be paid in 7 - 10 business days. I heard nothing by Jan. 2, 2018 so I called. I was told the documents were received and everything seemed in order, and that if approved I could expect payment by 1-10-18 20 calendar days after mailing. On 1-8-18 I receive an email that the W9 I completed did not contain my social security number so the claim cannot be processed, even though my correct social security number was included on the application. I completed another W9 and sent it in that evening. I have communicated with three representatives of Protective Life Insurance including a supervisor who all say the same thing. Your claim will be paid 7 - 10 working days from approval of documents, and because the social security number was not repeated on the W9 that the 7 -10 business day delay starts over. Unbelievable that it took 18 days for this company to notice that the social security number was only listed once instead of twice, and that the only recourse is for a new form to be submitted and their 7 - 10 business days counter to be started over. It appears that delaying payment, and quoting standard delays, is a common tactic used by this company to hold onto the money as long as possible. The only reason to purchase Life Insurance is to be paid in the event of death. This company appears to not be happy with the profit they make by collecting more in premiums than paying in benefits, but rather wants to hold your money as long as possible to earn interest on money that is no longer theirs. Stick with a reputable life insurance company. Don't buy from these people, or their affiliates, unless you don't care if your claim is paid in a timely manner. Shame on you, Protective Life Insurance Company. You should be aware that these policies are purchased to cover costs such as end of life medical, loss of income, and viewing, funeral, and burial expenses. These expenses are incurred prior to, and immediately following, death. Holding on to beneficiaries money for over a month when all information was provided in 6 days is not honoring your obligations in good faith. In 7 years, you never once failed to take the monthly payments from my bank account on time, but when it is your turn to pay, you need over a month. Increasing your profit margin by delaying the only benefit you provide is simply wrong."
Commented on 2018-01-11 00:50:23 EST
"Stay away from this company I had to contact my state Insurance Commissioner in order to collect on four separate claims. They lie, never return phone calls and provide false information when contacted by authorities. This company is a scam"
Commented on 2017-10-15 05:12:42 EST
"I decided to cash in the policy. They didn't tell me all the forms they required. After e weeks I called and they said, oh, we were about ready to contact you. Said it had been 14 working days and they say they have 15 days then they told me I needed a W-9 and now the 15 day time period has started over. I request an ETA and they say fine and never provide it Now they won't answer calls Hold for the next operator. They don't want to pay you. They act like they don't have the money. I would never recommend these people"
Commented on 2017-05-29 12:52:10 EST
"I asked for a term policy and thought that was what I had. Now, barely 10 years into my supposedly 20 year term policy I find out that the premiums we have paid which was exactly what they asked for in the policy has not been enough to keep the policy in force. I thought I was saving money but it turns out this was the most expensive mistakes I've ever made"
Commented on 2017-04-26 23:43:32 EST
View All Comments
Read Reviews From Your State: